nphc_logoDelta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc.

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority was founded on January 13, 1913 by 22 young collegiate women at Howard University who envisioned an organization of college women who believe in serious and strong community endeavors. These students wanted to use their collective strength to promote academic excellence and to provide assistance to persons in need.

The first public act performed by the Delta Founders involved their participation in the Women's Suffrage March in Washington, D.C., March 1913.

The major programs of the sorority are based upon the organizations Five-Point Thrust:

  • Economic Development
  • Educational Development
  • International Awareness and Involvement
  • Physical and Mental Health
  • Political Awareness and Involvement.
The current national programs include the Dr. Betty Shabazz Delta Academy.  The Academy provides an opportunity for local chapters to work on educational programs for at risk African American girls between the age of 11-14 to show them a brighter future by enriching their education and providing them with personalized attention.

Alpha Omicron Chapter was charter at the University of Washington on April 30, 1930 by eight visionary black women one of which was an original founder of the Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Incorporated, Soror Bertha Pitts Campbell.

CSULB NPHC:  Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc.

Alpha Omicron Chapter

Delta National Website

The National Pan-Hellenic Council, Inc. - Seattle Chapter
For more information please contact webmaster at